Lifestyle

Mummy and me: Am I doing this right?

By Deanna Campbell

Being a mum is tough. I spend my days planning out my minutes of which there aren’t nearly enough.

It’s been just over three years and it’s often harder than I make it out to be. There are days I wish for nothing more than a free hour, with nothing but few good words and a glass of wine to pass the time. This, of course, is followed by the obligatory internal bashing.

I’d love to say that I spend my days marvelling at this amazing human being I’ve created and revelling in all of his goodness. But the reality is that most of my time is spent worrying that I’m doing this mummy thing all wrong. Should he be eating more vegetables? Am I a horrible mother for allowing him that packet of chips for breakfast because it was the only way to avoid the tantrum? Should I be limiting the amount of TV he’s watching? Is it normal for him to not be potty trained yet? Why can’t I be more patient? Am I too patient?

Welcome to the inner debate that rages on in my mind, all day, every day. Is that normal? Shouldn’t I be spending my time basking in all that I’ve done right – I must have done something right – I mean, look at him.

Is this how it will always be?

Untitled-2Today, I stumbled across a beautiful video that has warmed my heart just a little. And even if it’s just today, or if I manage to remember its message in between house-cleaning and dinner making and meetings and deadlines – it has reminded me that sometimes, it’s important to take a step back and look at things from a different perspective.

I’m normal. It’s normal. And everything I do matters more than I know.

See it here: A New Perspective For Moms from Elevation Church on Vimeo.

Signatures2

2 thoughts on “Mummy and me: Am I doing this right?

  1. Thank you. I think I’m slowly learning to take a step back every now and then, breathe, and try and let go of the internal bashing. Agh, I don’t think men are clueless – it’s often their support that gets us through the hardest days.

  2. I have a son of my own and I know what my ex-wife went through daily.
    Believe me you are doing the best job possible. Men, we’re just clueless.

Leave a Reply

